Breaking News |

Amended schedule of Egypt's parliamentary elections

Sunday, February 24, 2013 2:48 PM 
Parliamentary elections - Amr Dalsh/REUTERS

President Mohamed Mursi decided on Saturday to amend the dates of the parliamentary elections because it conflicts with the Coptic holidays. The parliamentary elections will be held over four stages that begin on 22 April and end on 2 July. 

No date has been set yet for accepting candidates.

The first stage will be held on 22 and 23 April 2013 in Cairo, Beheira, Minya, Port Said, and North Sinai. Runoffs of this stage will be held on 29 and 30 April.

The second stage will be held on 15 and 16 May in Giza, Alexandria, Sohag, Bani Swaif, Aswan, Suez, Red Sea, and New Valley. Runoff of this stage will be held on 19 and 20 May.

The third stage will be held on 28 and 29 May in Daqahliya, Qaliubiya, Monofiya, Qena, Damietta, Luxor, Matrouh, and South Sinai. Runoffs of this stage will be held on 5 and 6 June.

The fourth and final stage will be held on 15 and 16 June in Sharqiya, Gharbiya, Assiut, Kafr al-Sheikh, Fayoum, and Ismailia. Runoffs of this stage will be held on 23 and 24 June.

The elected parliament will convene for the first time on Saturday July 2 at 11 a.m.

This content is from : Aswat Masriya
Aswat Masriya is a free website. Everyone is encouraged to use the content produced by Aswat Masriya journalists, as long as the website is credited and a link back to the website is included. Content from our content partners or Reuters cannot be republished without permission

Leave a comment

IMPORTANT: Aswat Masriya is not responsible for the content of any comment.

About Us | Contact Us | Terms Of Use All rights reserved 2016 Aswat Masriya ©